• Capital(s) – Cape Town and Pretoria
  • Population – 43 500 000 million
  • Area – 1 223 201 km2
  • Currency – Rand (R1 = 100 cents)
  • Languages – English, Afrikaans, Ndebele, North Sotho, South Sotho, Swazi, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa and Zulu
  • Time zone – gmt +2h00
  • International dialing code – +27
  • Continent – Africa

The Republic of South Africa is the most southern country in Africa and occupies the larger part of Africa, south of the Tropic of Capricorn. South Africa has two capital cities namely Cape Town and Pretoria. Other major cities include Johannesburg, Durban, Port Elizabeth, East London and Bloemfontein.

Cape Town and Johannesburg have international airports that service most cities in South Africa and most international cities. South African Airways is the national carrier to South Africa on a regular basis.

All visitors to South Africa require a valid passport and a visa. Passport holders of certain countries are exempt from visa requirements. Those who plan to travel to neighbouring countries and return to South Africa should apply for multiple entry visa’s.

Valued Added Tax (VAT) can be redeemed at the point of exit from the country provided that the value of the items purchased exceeds approximately $22/ £16.

South Africa has a variety of climates, as the country is so large and contains many geographical features. The Western Cape has a Mediterranean climate, Kwa Zulu Natal has a sub tropical climate, Gauteng’s central highveld has a temperate climate and in the Karoo region is an arid semi desert climate. Unreliable rainfall makes drought a common problem in South Africa, but in some provinces east of the Drakensberg they have regular rain, and this is a very lush sub tropical paradise.

South Africa has an abundance of flora and fauna and is home to the Big 5, namely Lion, Leopard, Elephant, Rhino and Buffalo. There are major Game Reserves throughout South Africa which make up the biggest tourist attractions.